SHOUT HER LOVELY NAME

By Natalie Serber
Houghton Mifflin HarcourtJune 2013
www.houghtonmifflinbooks.com
www.natalieserber.com

Trade Paperback240 pages, $13.95, ISBN: 9780544002210
Subject: Coming of Age / Family / Relationships

“In the complexities of family triumphs and catastrophes, Natalie Serber is always achingly specific. Between mothers and daughters, women and their lovers, she misses nothing, and in all her scenes, the reader feels the true breath of life.”Charles Baxter, author of Gryphon

“Shout Her Lovely Name joins the ranks of the finest books ever to address relations between daughters and their mothers – equal parts love and sandpaper. I ached for these characters and cried at their hard-earned moments of joy. A book to make you marvel that someone really does understand, to make you grateful that she wrote it all down so fiercely, so tenderly.”Robin Black, author of If I Loved You I Would Tell You This

“In the tradition of Lorrie Moore and Tobias Wolff, Natalie Serber's stories uncover the secret hearts of seemingly ordinary people. Funny, heart-felt, and keenly perceptive, this is a book worth shouting about.”Dan Chaon, author of Stay Awake

“Coming of age is a painful and beautiful experience in Natalie Serber's hands. These are funny and poignant pieces, building a book that feels novelistic in sweep, yet true to the precision and direct aim of the short story. A real pleasure.”Antonya Nelson, author of Bound

ANNUAL FAV BOOKS

ORDER PRINT EDITIONS

 

SPOTLIGHT

 

BY THE BOOK

 

BOOK CLUB ADVICE

 

NEWS